Author Topic: Doctor Who  (Read 5247 times)

Offline -<WillyP>-

• Lt. Commander
  • Purple Heart
  • I can haz personal text?
    • My photo gallery
Doctor Who
« on: June 28, 2010, 03:36:58 PM »
I've always liked this show... The new series is fabulous. Seems like they have improved in just about every area, without going too over the top.
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.

Offline Kaiaatzl

• An unusual choice for ship's cat
  • Platinum
  • beware of ounce
Re: Doctor Who
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 05:54:32 PM »
Yes not going over the top is the key... my friends and I have been saying that for more than 10 years...   ::)

I've wanted to check out this show actually... a lot of people have told me I would like it (my uncle and my sister watch it, for starts).

BTW, that reminds me - have you ever read Ender's Game?  I read it for the first time recently (after having it sitting on my bookshelf for years :P) and my first thought was that Descent players would really like this book.  (Of course, most of the stuff the author predicts about the internet is completely wrong, but it was written before the internet).

I think there's a whole series, but I haven't found time to read any more of it.

Offline Matthew

• Platinum
    • Globalgamers.de
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 09:17:58 PM »
I think I've read it, but I can't remember any specifics.

Offline Scyphi

• Purple Heart
  • TechPro Jr.
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2010, 05:10:13 AM »
I read it once, for a Science-fiction class once. Eh, I liked it, undeniably a well-written book, but I always felt like there was something missing from it.

As for Doctor Who, can't say I know much about the fanchise.
"I thought I had a great idea, but it never really took off. In fact, it didn't even get on the runway. I guess you could say it exploded in the hanger." -Calvin and Hobbes
Check out my deviantART

Offline NUMBERZero

• PDPM
  • Platinum
  • The Flight Pattern Reader
    • YouTube